Tired + PTSD = Oh no!

Besides my triggers, I know of nothing else that can effect me as much as being tired.  I don’t know if it’s from the years of being hyper alert or something else, but not getting enough rest is a recipe for an emotional disaster.

Being in the new place, sleep still isn’t consistent.  Add a spouse who snores and works earlier than you, and it’s equaling not a lot of sleep for me.  Being tired is about the equivalent of my mind being in a fog.  I start reverting to old habits that haven taken a long time to break from my daily life.

That leads to today.  Spouse isn’t sleeping well.  I’m not sleeping well.  And we both have PTSD.  I’m just grateful that we can both step back and see the root instead of tearing each other down.  It makes all the difference in the world.

So now I’m off to an early bed time in hopes of falling asleep before the snorer.  I’m grateful for today as it means I’m alive and kicking, even if I fall asleep after  kick.

Leave a Reply

